Weddings and Pinterest – Part 2

SolskenDesign - Organise wedding on Pinterest

In Weddings and Pinterest Part 1, I gave some suggestions on who to follow on Pinterest for great wedding-related pins. Now I’ll share my ideas on how to arrange your boards when you’re planning your own wedding or are helping someone else plan theirs.

I pin to boards of many different topics, so to find quickly what I’m looking for I’ve named them “Party | Palette & Theme” or “Party | Halloween” when it makes sense to keep pins of broad different contexts separated.

Another example is “Craft | Yarn” and “Craft | Paper” when I have sub-interests within that context (crafting) and like to keep pins on different boards. All craft-related boards sit next to each other, though.

When there’s a need to divide even further, I pin like this:

  • “Home | Decor”
  • “Home | Clean”
  • “Home | Organize” (general organising)
  • “Home | Organize, Kitchen” (lots of printables for jars, various kitchen helpers, tips, etc.)
  • “Home | Organize in 2013” (printables specific to 2013)
  • “Home | Organize in 2013” (printables specific to 2014)

When you look at the list of boards, it’s great to see which ones are related, since you can’t but scroll that list. What I mean is there’s no built-in feature at the time being to zoom in or out, so the icons for each board are quite large, and helping the brain register contexts quicker happens through streamlining the titles. It also helps to pick carefully the main photo in order to tone down visual clutter of the profile page with all the boards.

SolskenDesign - Wedding boards on Pinterest

Solsken Design boards on Pinterest

I’m not planning a wedding, but if I were, I would either drop “Wedding” from the titles entirely to increase available visible characters, or I’d shorten it to “W | Stationery” and so on. I’m also just starting with creating boards for this Wedding Wednesday blog series, so quite a few contexts are still missing.

The “Party | Wedding” exists as a general board at the end of the party-related boards and I’ve put pins there that don’t have homes elsewhere.

Personally, when planning a wedding, I’d like more sub-contexts available, so for instance:

  • “Stationery | Save-the-Date”
  • “Stationery | Invitation”
  • “Stationery | Menu” and
  • “Stationery | Guest book”

would be created. As you can see from the STD board in particular, its name is so long that you can’t fit many more characters or the title ends up not showing in its entirety on the profile page. The bride, depending on her taste, might also want to create separate boards for shoes, the gown, veil and so on. The reception in my case covers more contexts than I can count right now and according to venue, budget, amount of guests, etc. I’d split up in sub-boards.

The order of the boards is also a personal choice. I started with stationery because I perceive the process to begin from the save-the-date card, or rather the brainstorming and selection of it, but then I come from a country where engagement parties aren’t common right now.

Regardless of how you decide to divide pins and organise your thoughts, for your own sake be consistent according to an informed decision. The last thing you need is chaos at the wrong time, but pinning with care and making sure to add precise comments to each pin will help you use also the search function, if a pin by mistake has found its way to the wrong board. Weeding pins that turned out not to be keepers is another good practice!

Have fun pinning and happy planning!

Leave a Reply

